About Johannes Heidingsfelder

Johannes Heidingsfelder studied Tonmeister (sound engineering) at the Filmuniversität Konrad-Wolf in Potsdam-Babelsberg, just the other side of world-famous Filmstudios Babelsberg. He works as sound designer, audio project manager, composer, Tonmeister and musician (electronic music, cello). His films have been screened in Cannes and at worldwide A-Festivals from Berlin to San Francisco to Tokyo. The Goethe-Institut invited him to Kazakhstan, followed by invitations to Egypt and for audio Q&A to the Max Ophüls Festival. The University of Lucerne asked him to contribute to the book publication „Denken in Bildern“ (Thinking in Pictures) from a creative perspective as an artist. He is a selected official „Talent“ of the Berlinale Film Festival and received the young talent award „Best Sound for Picture“ from the Association of German Tonmeister (VdT). An entrance test lasting several days helped him to obtain a scholarship from the Stiftung der Deutschen Wirtschaft (Foundation of German Economy), which enabled him to participate in further training in politics, society and future topics over many years. Scholarships also from the city of Berlin and for the master class Sound Design in Hamburg. Internships at the Bavarian Radio, the Berlin Philharmonic and in the studio of an famous Echo and multiple Gold & Platinum awarded band.
His strengths are enormous tenacity, quick learning, high empathy and a tendency to perfectionism with the drive to constantly expand the limits of what can be heard and experienced through all kinds of Audio. In four major AAA projects he alone fulfilled the complete range of these core steps:
– Location Recordings
– Editing
– Sound Design
– ADR
– Mixer

– Score (composition, recording, mixing)
– post-production manager.

Themes of the films are strong narratives, socio-critical reflections, illumination of a human psyche in extreme situations (I Don’t Feel Like Dancing), bullying (At Eye Level), the exploration of loneliness (The Final Call), the German-French border relationship (Greetings from Cottendorf), broken friendship (2 in me – SouthKorea), Germany’s oldest photographer agency Ostkreuz (Photo: Ostkreuz). In „Wives and Girlfriends“, the story about player’s wives in football was awarded with First Steps Nachwuchspreis (best in DACH region) and invited to the Berlinale Filmfestival (Perspektive Deutsches Kino). „Ella and Nell“ sheds light on the now difficult friendship between two women, marked by their conflicting decisions about family or their own career (Mubi). The projects won the German Film Prize, German Critics‘ Prize, UNICEF Award, another 60 international awards and were shown regularly on television, on Amazon, on Mubi as well as at international film festivals.
In 2018 he was booked for an extraordinary event on the Champs-Élysées in Paris, for which he composed nine sound collages about public figures. Due to the success, he was booked for the follow-up event in the same year. Solely responsible for the overall sound concept (content and implementation) leading a small team, he worked directly for the creative director. In 2020 he created audio assets for the iOS and Android game „Under Watch“, which reached number 6 in the US iOS charts within the first days and soon counted more than 200k downloads.
For his own music project, he manages the balancing act of creating catchy, sophisticated music and deals with topics of society, philosophy and economy, collaborating with artists from the USA, Italy, Greece, Spain and Germany. In 2020 he will complete the project with 16 pieces (composition, recording, lyrics, instrumentation & arrangement, mixing).
He gained his experience and partly very unusual experiences on his longer journeys through more than 35 countries, 8 months in a row he travelled through Asia with a small rucksack, walked with a tent along an ancient Japanese pilgrimage route (with TV interview), was welcomed by young Israelis for his first Shabbat including overnight stay while hitchhiking at the border to Syria and discussed in a hot mountain spring about the politics of China by the CEO of the Taiwan Film Institute, who visited him during his business trip to the Berlinale Filmfestival for a brewery tour at the Eco Brewery Lammsbrauerei in Neumarkt.
He loves to cook and uses a popular cooking platform for this purpose (Chefkoch). Since he knows both ingredients and recipes for exquisite sound for his work, he exchanged cooking with sound and registered the Cheftonmeister address. contact: meisterton at gmx

Über Johannes Heidingsfelder

Johannes Heidingsfelder studierte Tonmeister an der Filmuniversität Konrad-Wolf und arbeitet als Sound Designer, Audio Projekt Manager, Komponist und Musiker (elektronische Musik, Cello). Seine Filme liefen in Cannes und auf weltweiten A-Festivals von San Francisco bis Tokyo. Das Goethe-Institut lud ihn nach Kasachstan ein, es folgten Einladungen nach Ägypten und für Audio-Q&A zum Max-Ophüls-Festival. Für die Universität Luzern schrieb er aus Sicht eines Kreativen zur Buchpublikation „Denken in Bildern“. Er ist ausgewähltes offizielles „Talent“ der Berlinale Filmfestspiele und hält den Nachwuchsförderpreis „Bester Ton zum Bild“ vom Verband Deutscher Tonmeister. Ein mehrtägiges Assessment-Center verhalf ihm zur Aufnahme als Stipendiat der Stiftung der Deutschen Wirtschaft, über welche er an Weiterbildungen in Politik, Gesellschaft, Zukunftsthemen teilnehmen konnte. Stipendien der Stadt Berlin und zur Meisterklasse Sound Design in Hamburg. Praktika beim Bayerischen Rundfunk, der Berliner Philharmonie und im Studio einer Echo und multiple Gold- & Platinum-prämierten Band.
Seine Stärke sind neben enormen Durchhaltevermögen, schnellem Neulernen, hoher Empathiefähigkeit ein Hang zum Perfektionismus mit dem Antrieb, die Grenzen des Hör- und Erfahrbaren beständig auszudehnen. In vier prämierten Großprojekten erfüllte er alleine die komplette Bandbreite aller Kernschritte :
– O-Ton
– Schnitt
– Tongestaltung
– Synchronaufnahme
– Mischung
– Filmmusik (Komposition, Aufnahme, Mischung)
– organisatorische Aufgaben als Postproduktionsleiters.

Themen der Filme sind starke Erzählungen, sozial-kritische Betrachtungen, Beleuchtung einer menschlichen Psyche in extremen Situationen (I don’t feel like dancing), Mobbing (Auf Augenhöhe), die Erforschung der Einsamkeit (The Final Call), der Deutsch-Französischen- Grenzbeziehung (Grüße aus Cottendorf) oder Deutschlands ältester Fotografen Agentur Ostkreuz (Foto: Ostkreuz). In „Wives and Girlfriends“ wurde die Geschichte über Spielerfrauen im Fußball mit dem First Steps Nachwuchspreis (DACH-Region) ausgezeichnet und zur Berlinale eingeladen (Perspektive Deutsches Kino). „Ella und Nell“ beleuchtet die nunmehr schwierige Freundschaft zweier Frauen, geprägt von ihrer konträren Entscheidung zu Familie oder zur eigenen Leistung (Mubi). Die Projekte gewannen den Deutschen Filmpreis, Deutschen Kritikerpreis, UNICEF Award, weitere 60 internationale Auszeichnungen und wurden neben internationalen Filmfestivals regelmäßig im Fernsehen, auf Amazon, auf Mubi gezeigt. 
2018 wurde er für ein außergewöhnliches Event am Champs-Élysées in Paris gebucht, für das er neun Geräusch-Kollagen zu öffentlichen Personen komponierte. Aufgrund des Erfolgs wurde er im selben Jahr für die Folgeveranstaltung gebucht. Alleine verantwortlich für das Gesamttonkonzept (Inhalt und Umsetzung) arbeitete direkt für die Kreativdirektorin. 2020 erschuf er Audio Assets für das iOS und Android Spiel „Under Watch“, welches innerhalb der ersten Tag auf Platz 6 der US-iOS-Charts landete und nach zwei Wochen bereits 200k Downloads zählte.
Für sein eigenes Musikprojekt schafft er den Spagat, eingängige anspruchsvolle Musik zu gestalten und verarbeitet Themen der Gesellschaft, Philosophie und Wirtschaft, kollaborierte mit Künstlern aus USA, Italien, Griechenland, Spanien und Deutschland. 2020 wird er das Projekt mit 16 Stücken abschließen.
– Komposition
– Aufnahme
– Texte
– Instrumentation&Arrangement
– Mischung
– Mastering
Seine Erfahrungen und teils äußerst ungewöhnlichen Erlebnisse sammelte er auf seinen längeren Reisen durch über 35 Länder,  8 Monate reiste er am Stück mit einem kleinen Rucksack durch Asien, wanderte mit Zelt einen uralten japanischen Pilgerweg (mit Fernsehinterview), wurde beim per Anhalter fahren an der Grenze zu Syrien zu seinem ersten Shabbat samt Übernachtung von jungen Israelis eingeladen, in einer heißen Bergquelle diskutierend über die Politik Chinas Freund des CEO des Taiwan Filminstituts, welcher ihn im Rahmen seiner Geschäftsreise zu den Berlinale Filmfestspielen zu einer Brauereitour in der Öko-Lammsbrauerei in Neumarkt besuchte.
Er kocht sehr gerne und nutzt dazu die Plattform Chefkoch. Da er für seine Arbeit sowohl Zutaten als auch Rezepte für einen exquisiten Ton weiß, tauschte er Koch mit Ton und meldete die Cheftonmeister-Adresse an. Kontakt: meisterton at gmx.de